This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By agreeinging to this statement you consent for us to use cookies that ensure the marketing we do is relevant to you. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Wednesday Final Race 2010

  • Lightish airs, F1 really, and a last minute course change due to a gear failure on the prospective windward mark. This the course ended up rather longer than was planned, with a full length beat, a broad reach, then a shy reach right across the reservoir, crossing the beat, a shortish run and then a fairly close reach back to the start.


    Caroline Baldwin's Byte showed early on the beat along with Hamilton's Xenon and Playle's Solo. However by the middle of the first lap Kevin Pearson seemed to be on quite a charge in what is not really his preferred conditions, up to third halfway round the lap. Further back Mike Curtis' Rs400 was making very good progress as was Carl Mayhew in an RS 200.

    Towards the end of the 1st lap the 400 left the 200s well behind to to take a big lead out of the fast fleet and was soon up with Lasers etc, whilst the Xenon was maintaing a lead on the water.

    In the second lap Mike continued to go well in the 400, including a neat slam dunk on Rob Pettit's Laser, forcing Rob to tack away. Things were not going so well for Carl Mayhew, who was seen doing turns after a windward mark altercation. Mike sailed away to lead at the end of what proved the be the last lap by quite a margin with Ian Hamilton and Kevin Pearson contesting second on the water.


    So results... No suprise at all to see Mike Curtis winning the race very handily on handicap. Kebin Pearson was a good second, somewhat aided, perhaps, by John Smith delaying Carl Mayhew who was third, but a good performance in the conditions.  Paul Playle took 4th, the Fardon's 5th in an RS200 and Rob Pettit 6th. In the personal Ian Hamilton knocked out another win, followed by Paul Playle, Michael Curtis, Caroline Baldwin, Fiona Fardon and Kevin Pearson.


    So overall Carl Mayhew and Jo Lloyd win the scratch series, with Mike Curtis and Julie Harrison pipping Gareth Griffiths for 2nd by virtue of winning tonights race.

     The personal series went to the dramatically improved Xenon of Ian Harrison from Alasdair Maclean, going rather better in the 200 than he has in other boats in the past. Paul Playle took a good third from Clare James, who was also relishing the change to two handed sailing.


    Anyway, full results here as ever...