This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By agreeinging to this statement you consent for us to use cookies that ensure the marketing we do is relevant to you. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

National Solo Open Meeting July 2008


    National Solo Open Meeting at the Island Barn Reservoir Sailing Club West Molesey Saturday 12th July. Thames Valley Series
    16 Visitors from 11 sailing clubs with 10 home boats met in fine weather with a South West wind force 2-4 gusting 5. The race officer set a course making most of the 122 acres of raised water. There were four races with three to count, a break for midday lunch, and the day finished with the presentation of trophies and a cream tea.
    First Race, Mike Hobin from Oxford, a previous winner here, was first to round the windward mark and went on to win from Godfrey Clark, Fishers Green and Will Loy of Reading sailing club.
    Second Race, was tight with Will Loy winning from Simon Corper, Reading and Daniel Goodman of Kingsmead.
    Third Race, here spectators were treated to a real nail biter with Will Loy and Rob Wilder of Tamesis, quickly getting clear of the fleet and battle throughout with often only a boats length to separate them. Will winning from Rob with Godfrey Clark third.
    Forth Race, was another close race with Mike Hobin winning from Daniel Goodman and Rob Wilder
    The Home fleet trophy was won by Arthur Philips 11th from Gareth Griffiths 12th and Peter Halliday in 15th position.
    Final results were: -
    Posn.        Sail               Name                       Sailing Club               Score
       1            4835              Will Loy                   Reading                      5
       2            4927              Mike Hobin              Oxford                        6
       3            4836             Rob Wilder               Tamesis                      9
       4            4120              Godfrey Clark           Fishers Green           10
       5            4922              Simon Corper            Reading                    12
       6            4735              Daniel Goodman       Kingsmead               13
       7            4850              Joe McLaughlin        Tamesis                    16
       8            4772              Mike Wilkie              Littleton                   23
       9            4441              Andrew Voysey        RYA                         24
     10            4741              Steve Jones               Littleton                    24
     11            4048              Arthur Phillips          Island Barn               33
     12            3385              Gareth Griffiths        Island Barn               35
     13            4215              Claire Clark              Fishers Green            38
     14            4190              Paul Johnson             Rickmansworth         39
     15            4071              Peter Halliday           Island Barn                39
     16            4762             Anthony O’Connor    KGSC                        41
     17            4647             Michael Lipscombe    Island Barn                44
     18              606             Malcolm Barnes         Island Barn                52
     19            4686             Hugh Jervis                 Island Barn                57
     20            4064             Keven Fuller               Datchet                      58
     21            4252             Glen Cole                    Island Barn                59
     22            3457             Mervyn Cinnamond    Island Barn                60
     23            4073             Peter Cottrell               Island Barn                67
     24             978              David Lawton              Island Barn               68
     25            3171             Richard Wall-Budden Island Barn               69
     26            3262             Stuart Whitmore          Island Barn               76
    Our grateful thanks to:-
    Race Officer Peter Curtis and his Duty Team
    June and Janet for catering
    Jim Champ for his work on the computer.
    And all those helm’s who took part.